HOUSTON – Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, the leading publication for all things football in Texas, and the AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl proudly announce the 100 player Watch List for the Mr. Texas Football High School Player of the Year Award presented by Wells Fargo. The voters, when appropriate, will add additional players for consideration throughout the year.

Mr. Texas Football presented by Wells Fargo annually recognizes the most outstanding high school football player in the state of Texas. Each week, fans are given a chance to vote for the player of the week on At the end of the high school football season, 10 finalists will be named. Fans can then cast their vote as to who should be named Mr. Texas Football. The winner of the 2016 Mr. Texas Football Award presented by Wells Fargo will be announced prior to and recognized at the 2016 AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl, which will be played on Wednesday, Dec. 28 at NRG Stadium in Houston.

The full list of players on the Watch List for Mr. Texas Football is available at and includes the following current players:
• QB Sam Ehlinger of Austin Westlake
• LB Anthony Davis of Waco La Vega
• WR Cameron Copley of Canadian
• DL Corey Bethley of Katy
• QB Jack Dallas of West Orange-Stark
• DE K’Lavon Chaisson of Galena Park North Shore
• DL Mandel Turner-King of West Orange-Stark
• QB Roshauud Paul of Bremond
• RB Tyler Gray of Brock
• LB Zane Young of Brock

Former winners of the award include 2012 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel (2010 winner, Kerrville Tivy), former Texas Longhorns running back Johnathan Gray (2011 winner, Aledo), Chicago Bears running back Jacquizz Rodgers (2007 winner, Lamar Consolidated) and former St. Louis Rams quarterback Garrett Gilbert (2008 winner, Lake Travis). Current Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray took home the award in 2013 & 2014 while Texas Tech freshman Jett Duffey took home the award in 2015.

For more information on the Mr. Texas Football Award, visit or

About the AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl
The AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl is owned and operated by ESPN Events, a subsidiary of ESPN, and managed locally by Lone Star Sports & Entertainment. The bowl will showcase teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, two of the country’s premier conferences, for the next four years. The AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl has been a tremendous success both on and off the field over its first ten years, with record crowds and sellouts each of the past 2 years. The bowl generates nearly $50 million annually for the Houston economy and has donated over $1,000,000 in financial support and millions more in promotional support to DePelchin Children’s Center, the bowl’s official charitable beneficiary.

About Wells Fargo
Wells Fargo & Company (NYSE: WFC) is a nationwide, diversified, community-based financial services company with $1.7 trillion in assets. Founded in 1852 and headquartered in San Francisco, Wells Fargo provides banking, insurance, investments, mortgage, and consumer and commercial finance through 8,700 locations, 12,800 ATMs, the internet ( and mobile banking, and has offices in 36 countries to support customers who conduct business in the global economy. With approximately 266,000 team members, Wells Fargo serves one in three households in the United States. Wells Fargo & Company was ranked No. 30 on Fortune’s 2015 rankings of America’s largest corporations. Wells Fargo’s vision is to satisfy our customers’ financial needs and help them succeed financially. Wells Fargo perspectives are also available at Wells Fargo Blogs and Wells Fargo Stories.

AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl PR Contacts
Allie LeClair,, 832-667-2050
Katie Karsh,, 832-667-2085


Presented by

© 2016 Lone Star Sports & Entertainment. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy